When It’s Real Review!

35135822-1

Author: Erin Watt

Publisher: Harlequin Teen

Format: Paperback

Untitled copyFrom #1 New York Times bestselling author duo Erin Watt comes the addictive contemporary tale of a teen rock star in need of an image makeover and the teen girl hired to be his fake girlfriend.

Meet Oakley Ford-teen celebrity, renowned pop star, child of famous movie stars, hottie with millions of fangirls… and restless troublemaker. On the surface he has it all, but with his home life disintegrating, his music well suddenly running dry, and the tabloids having a field day over his outrageous exploits, Oakley’s team decides it’s time for an intervention. The result: an image overhaul, complete with a fake girlfriend meant to show the world he’s settled down.

Enter seventeen-year-old Vaughn Bennett-devoted sister, part-time waitress, the definition of “normal.” Under ordinary circumstances she’d never have taken this gig, but with her family strapped for cash, she doesn’t have much of a choice. And for the money Oakley’s team is paying her, she figures she can put up with outlandish Hollywood parties and a team of publicists watching her every move. So what if she thinks Oakley’s a shallow, self-centered jerk? It’s not like they’re going to fall for each other in real life…right?

 


UntitledWOW……..

I loved When It’s Real by Erin Watt! It is the perfect contemporary type for me! I will admit, it is what some people describe as a “typical YA romance” but I believe that everyone has a side of them that enjoys the occasional happy, feel-good novel that has some surprises and that perfectly describes When It’s Real!


 

“The good ones put your character to the flame and burn away all the rest of the shit until you come out a better you. She’s one of the good ones.”
― Erin Watt, When It’s Real

 


When It’s Real is about Vaughn, a seventeen year old girl who is raising her two younger brothers with her older sister. She agrees to take a job to be bad boy and pop star Oakley Ford’s fake girlfriend. As Vaughn enters the crazy world of paparazzi, groupies and celebrities things get crazy.

I read the whole book in one sitting! I loved Erin’s writing and the storyline and the characters. Basically I just loved everything about this book!! I was so invested into the characters which for me is something that transforms a book from good to amazing and i highly applaud the author for that!


 

“There aren’t any cameras here. This isn’t for show.
This is as real and as awful and as wonderful as it gets. I’d hold her forever if she’d let me.”
― Erin Watt, When It’s Real

 


I really enjoyed reading about the characters and the only complaint I have about any of them is W’s name. I feel like his character would have had more of an impact if they just called him by his full name which is William. I don’t think that calling him W really worked in the sense because he was a constant character throughout the book but that is probably just me and my preferences and nobody else probably really cared!

I’m totally in love with Oakley. He had this perfect bad boy but totally a softie underneath personality that was just amazing! The relationships that all the characters had with each other was really nice to read about!


 

“You’re the one person in my life who wants nothing but me and it’s terrifying and awesome at the same time. Don’t ever leave me. I love you. You’re my heart.”
― Erin Watt, When It’s Real

 


 

I gave When It’s Real by Erin Watt 5 out of 5 stars and I completely recommend it to anyone! This was my first Erin Watt book but it defintley won’t be the last! Thank you so much for reading my review.

Laura xx

Leave a Reply

